Archive for February 25, 2009

Promises and obstacles of open access science – Thus Spake John Wilbanks

Anyone knows who John Wilbanks is? Well, I just found out. John Wilbanks Recently a post on slashdot caught my attention – it was both science-y and geeky – a combo I simply couldn’t resist. It linked to an interview with the said John Wilbanks, where he speaks very wisely indeed about some of the central issues of modern science: scientific communication, open access publishing, data accessibility and storage, and more. John is VP of Science at Creative Commons (article on Wikipedia) an organization whose sole purpose is to make it easier for people to share their creative work if they so desire (check out this movie on YouTube for a no-brainer explanation of how it works, and this website for another movie on how it relates to science). As the interview is rather lengthy, I decided to summarize its main themes in this post, and, well, I wouldn’t be myself if I didn’t take the liberty to venture a few opinions of my own.
(more…)

February 25, 2009 at 6:04 am 1 comment


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category